IEEE 802.11

The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, i.e. IEEE, is a group of scientists and engineers who together formulate proposals with new technologies or adjustments to existing technologies. A number of these ideas are then combined to form a standard that must be met by everyone. The most well-known example is of course 802.3 (Ethernet) although now 802.11 (Wi-Fi) is a given too. The participants are both independent people and also representatives of different manufacturers.


Many standards produce one

Many of the ideas are expansions regarding an existing theme. Not every standard is, therefore, an autonomous entity, but builds on from previous standards. Typically, an expansion is made of the original standard at a certain moment in which these subversions are included. The specific task force will then stop existing and the development will continue within the overall picture.


The standards

All standards in a row: IEEE Std 802.11, 802.11a, 802.11b, 802.11b-Cor1, 802.11d, 802.11e, 802.11F, 802.11g, 802.11h, 802.11i, 802.11j, 802.11k, 802.11m, 802.11ma, 802.11-REVma, 802.11mb, 802.11REVmb, 802.11n, 802.11p, 802.11r, 802.11s, 802.11T, 802.11v, 802.11u, 802.11w, 802.11y, 802.11z, 802.11aa, 802.11ac, 802.11ad, 802.11ae, 802.11af, 802.11ah, 802.11ai, 802.11aj, 802.11ak, 802.11aq, 802.11ax, 802.11REVmc, 802.11.1 and 802.11.2 

We are mainly aware of those standards that are linked to a product. The focus is mainly on the difference in speed with regard to the difference between these standards.

802.11 Hoofdstandaarden

In addition, we, therefore, have the full alphabet that forms the Wi-Fi networks as a whole that we are aware of today and in the future.

802.11 Alle Standaarden